Money Can’t Buy You Character

…though I’d love the opportunity to test that theory.

For the past few days, I’ve had the motivation to get up early and hit the gym before work. The best part of working out first thing is that it’s then out of the way. The worst part is that I get to watch CNN on the elliptical and I can tell you that we are screwed on every level: morally, financially, meteorologically. Screwed. If my gym played Fox News, I’d probably hide in the locker room and wait for the end of days (not just because I think Fox and Friends is the first dark horse of the apocalypse, but a little bit because of that).

Fortunately, not everyone is plagued with worry over the fact that our economy is a fish flopping on a hot, dry sidewalk or the fact that it really looks like the apocalypse in Oklahoma. Some people are busy being upset that the catered breakfast delivered to our office this morning was cold.

That’s not truly fair. No one was given a choice of fixing all the problems in the world or whining about breakfast. But I am tired of listening to people complain about luxurious creature comforts as though they were being deprived of basic needs.

In my office, most people are polite and nice. If the day’s circumstances are not ideal, they don’t throw temper tantrums. I never begrudge anyone the luxuries they’ve worked so hard for. If you come by your money honestly, I think you deserve every penny and the perks that sort of success comes with. However, I don’t think being rich and successful gives you carte blanche to be an asshole to everyone around you. If you are lucky enough to have an office that provides you with catered meals, be grateful. If someone goes out of his or her way to select food to nourish your body, don’t whine if it shows up late and is cold. I don’t mind if you don’t like the food. I don’t even mind if you make a constructive statement about it. But to moan and complain for over half an hour is beyond obnoxious. It’s beyond self-involved. It is even beyond wearing madras after Labor Day. Having a fit over decent (as opposed to really great) food makes you look like you have the character strength of a Lohan. It is exhausting to listen to and it poisons the day of everyone around you, especially the person who chose, picked up, set up and cleaned up the meal you have spent an entire morning decrying.

Entitlement is not a good color on anyone, especially in a time when our country is so savagely divided between the haves and the have-nots. And especially when it ruins my breakfast.

*Editor’s note: I can grasp the irony of sitting in my chair lamenting someone’s inability to be grateful for what they have while I have the time to blog from work…

2 thoughts on “Money Can’t Buy You Character

  1. Pingback: You Could Drive a Person Buggy, You Could Blow a Person’s Cool | petulantpanda

  2. Pingback: If Someone Would Have Said to Me a Year Ago That I Would Take the Trip I’m Taking Now…. | petulantpanda

Leave a Reply

