Gratitude, Part II

Yesterday, I had a moment of doubt. I present a pretty self-assured persona to the world (see here, here and here for examples of this unblemished façade), but now and again I feel a little anxious that I haven’t met someone who makes my heart flutter like Disney promised me I will.

Fortunately, I wasn’t alone in my moment of panic. I was with my New York BFF, the Marvelous Meerkat. “Don’t worry about relationships you don’t have; nurture the ones you do have. Female friendships are just as difficult to form and need energy and attention too.”

The Marvelous Meerkat is so right. I may not have been so lucky in love, but I have been blessed beyond my imagination with friends. That same Meerkat worked with tourists all day and still volunteered to come shopping with me on 5th Avenue on Black Friday (the enormity of this action still overwhelms me).

It’s human nature to continually strive for more. But we all need a Marvelous Meerkat or other adorable creature to keep us in line. Deep friendships and bonds are the chips in the cookie of life: someone to spend the day with, watching Transformers and Transformers II (but not that travesty Transformers III, someone figure out how to get Megan Fox back in the franchise pronto!); or to test the bounds of decency at an all-you-can-drink brunch; or take a bus from another city on a holiday weekend to surprise you on your birthday; or introduce you to the magic of Harry Potter; or just snuggle with you on the couch while Rick and Shane beat in the skulls of Walkers. Women who listen to your heartaches with open minds and say if you’re being a jackass; that is friendship.

I will dare to say that yesterday was not the last moment of doubt I’ll experience in my mid-twenties, which I believe range from 22 to 29 years, 11 months and 364 days. In all that time, there will be fear and questioning. If you are as lucky as I have been, you’ll have a bevvy of smart, funny ladies who are willing to help you find your way. And if you’re really lucky, they’ll bring booze for the journey.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude, Part II

  1. Amanda… I love reading your blog. You write so well and have a great, quirky sense of humor (no surprise there, considering your parentage!) I especially loved this one about women-friendships… so true… nothing like them. Keep writing – you’re funny and wise!

Leave a Reply

