If Someone Would Have Said to Me a Year Ago That I Would Take the Trip I’m Taking Now….

If the world ends before I’m eligible for my iPhone upgrade on Verizon, I’m going to be pissed, though I guess I won’t really be able to do much about it.

That said, I’m really looking forward to this coming year. I feel like I’ve finally lined up my priorities and dialed down the crazy. (This blog makes me seem a little neurotic; imagine how crazy I was a decade ago.) In 2012, I resolve to take an improv class and get better at dating people who actually like me. But while New Year’s Resolutions are exciting, but I think it’s even more exciting (and empowering) to look back on the things that you’ve accomplished in the last year.

I survived a career-threatening surgery and its subsequent rehab and came out stronger than ever. I bought TWO pairs of Toms, thus helping people in need of shoes and helping myself fit in better when I visit friends in Williamsburg. (Once, while in that very neighborhood, I realized I was the only person wearing shorts without irony. It was disconcerting to say the least.) I quit a job that I’d been at for three years, which was a difficult but healthy decision. I found the best Bloody Mary in Manhattan (Welcome to the Johnsons’-check it out!). I finished Anna Karenina, which only took me 13 months.I went to Baton Rouge and saw Mike the Tiger three times!

 I’ve made my new job work, despite a few emotional pitfalls. I got a root canal and a crown, which only took me 10 months, start to finish. I wrote, produced and performed a cabaret with one of my best friends and people came and enjoyed themselves! I kept the Santa secret for a year. I found the strength to evict someone who was poisoning my apartment with her inconsideration and her hateful attitude.

And I started this blog, which I love so much. Thank you all for taking the time to read anything I’ve written; it has been a blast so far! I hope everyone has a safe and happy New Year’s Eve and an awesome 2012!

Also, Happy Birthday to the Awesome Opossum!!!

Leave a Reply

