Who Runs the World? Girls? A Review

I am sick. All the parts of me that are usually full of sass are filled in with germs. But that didn’t stop me from eating two Hot Pockets for lunch (medicinal!) and it won’t stop me from getting so far ahead of the cultural zeitgeist that I actually go back in time to talk about something people were really talking about months ago.

I hate that show Girls on HBO. But it took a long time and an influential gchat with the Awesome Opossum to really put my finger on why. I guess “hate” is strong. I am deeply irritated by that show Girls on HBO.

Full disclosure: I have only watched a couple of full episodes and some random scenes. I had to stop watching it because it is like Sex and the City without any of the fantasy. I don’t like television that perpetuates the idea that all women are bracingly insecure and are terrible friends to each other. It’s annoying to watch and hurts all of us. I’ll concede that some of the moments of the show ring true: Adam’s treating Hannah like crap is particularly familiar, but even that loses authenticity when *SPOILERS* he turns out to be just as messed up as she is and wants to be Hannah’s boyfriend. I’ve dated lots of crappy artsy guys and this has never happened, ever. Girls is most comfortable when it is unrealistic and making its characters live at the lowest level of their personal moralities.

I do not care that Lena Dunham and the other leads have wealthy, famous family members. I’ve been trying to find a way to make nepotism work for me for the last two decades of my life. My main issue is that the show is about being young and broke in New York City. As someone who has been both for quite some time, I can tell you that they are doing it wrong. It’s offensive to watch a show where the premise is that one regular girl can borrow months of rent from another regular girl. That doesn’t happen, through sheer lack of financial ability and the constraints of friendship. If my parents pulled the financial rug out from under me, I wouldn’t be all pussy-footing around my internship the next day coyly hinting at a job. I would ask for a job and then hit the pavement, going to every Starbucks and retail establishment that would take my resume. Surviving in this city is not some bullshit hipster existential experience. Without resources, you can’t stay here. I’ve lost a lot of friends to the weight of NYC financial demands. Not like they died, they just move home.

I don’t hate Lena Dunham’s writing, but maybe she should stick to what she actually knows. Writing about struggling twenty-three year olds is not it. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to get back to a Law and Order: SVU marathon on USA.

Leave a Reply

