In Memorium

Right now I’m reading Rosamund Lupton’s haunting but beautiful novel Sister. The below passage is one I stumbled upon last night and I think it fits as we figure out our next steps as a nation to keep its citizens safe.

The bouquets made sense to me now. Decent people were trying to fight evil with flowers, the good fighting under the pennants of bouquets. I remembered the road to Dunblane lined with soft toys. I had not understood before why anyone would think a family whose child had been shot would want a teddy. But now I did; against the sound of gunshots, a thousand conpassionate soft toys muffled a little their reverberating horror. ‘Mankind isn’t like this,’ the offerings say, ‘we are not like this. The world isn’t only this way.'”

Leave a Reply

